The Wellys 2015, Wednesday 18 November

About The Wellys

The Wellingtonian of the Year Awards are a Dominion Post project and were started in 1989 to celebrate achievements and contributions across all sectors of the Greater Wellington community, awarding those who make the greater Wellington region the exciting and vibrant city it is - "the coolest little capital in the world"

Now endearingly known as The Wellys, the awards night celebrates these people across nine categories, with one overall winner recognised as the supreme Wellingtonian of the Year winner.

Previous winners

There have been some truly outstanding recipients over the years, starting with Gloria Grattan in 1989 for her work as a launch fundraiser for Mary Potter Hospice. 

Other winners include Dane Coles, Steven Adams, Sir Des Britten, Sir Roy McKenzie, Dame Kate Harcourt, Sir Peter Jackson, Sir Jon Trimmer, Steve Logan & Al Brown and Jemaine Clement & Bret McKenzie of Flight of the Conchords fame.


There are 9 Wellys Categories:

  Arts     Business     Community Service      Education      Environment     

  Government     Science & Technology    Sport     Youth


+ Text Size -
Original generation time 1.1452 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0006 seconds.