skip to main content

2015 Recipients

Wellingtonion of the Year and Arts Catgory Winner

Sir Richard Taylor

The artistic brilliance of Weta Workshop co-founder and five time Oscar winner Sir Richard Taylor shone through again this year with Te Papa to create “Gallipoli: the scale of our war” exhibition.

Business Winner

Mike Egan

Mike Egan is regarded as one of the pioneers of Wellington hospitality having opened several landmark establishments. He’s been the voice for the industry in Wellington and was part of the steering group that conceptualised Wellington On a Plate.

Community Service Winner

Dr. Elizabeth Sneyd & Craig Utting

Elizabeth Sneyd and Craig Utting are co-founders of 'The Virtuoso Strings', a string orchestra to help young people in Wellington learn the magic of good ensemble playing, and offer free music tuition in East Porirua.

Education Winner

Roger Moses

Roger Moses, Wellington College Headmaster since 1995, is a well-known leader in education. He’s been on the executive of the Secondary Principals' Association of New Zealand and is currently Chairman of the Association of Boys' Schools of New Zealand.

Environment Winner

Stu Barr

Stu Barr leads the Goodnature team, the company providing an effective pest trap that humanely dispatches destructive pests and then resets itself – they’re proving very popular with regional councils and native birds, but less so with rats, stoats and possums.

Government Winner

Philippa Howden-Chapman

Professor Philippa Howden-Chapman is director of  He Kainga Oranga/Housing and Health Research Programme, Otago University, Wellington which is improving children's health by reducing respiratory and infectious illnesses linked to poor housing in the Wellington region.

Science & Technology Winner

John-Daniel Trask

John-Daniel Trask is co-founder & CEO of Raygun, a software development tools producer which in turn co-founded Givealittle. He has backed a wide range of Kiwi start-ups and combines mentoring up-and-coming software developers with lectures and speaking engagements.

Sport Winner

Conrad Smith

Described as the senior statesman of the All Blacks’ midfield, Conrad Smith has also been an inspirational captain with the Hurricanes over the past couple of seasons, contributing greatly to the team’s overall success.

World Welly - Tribute

Anna Paquin

Anna sprang to fame at 9 years old, winning Best Supporting Actress for her role as Flora in The Piano. Hollywood came calling but Anna turned them away, for a while, continuing her intermediate and college schooling in Wellington before heading to LA.  She’s since gone on to star in numerous roles on the big and small screen, including X-Men and, more recently, the True Blood series, where she’s picked up multiple awards.

Youth Winner

Lucy Carver & Skye Chadwick

Lucy Carver and Skye Chadwick are co-founders of Orientation Aotearoa, an 8 month residential education programme for aspiring young changemakers that focuses on leadership, sustainability and social entrepreneurship. Lucy manages the curriculum and Skye the fundraising and marketing.

+ Text Size -

Skip to TOP

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the server!