The Wellys 2015, Wednesday 18 November



About The Wellys

The Wellingtonian of the Year Awards are a Dominion Post project and were started in 1989 to celebrate achievements and contributions across all sectors of the greater Wellington community, awarding those who make the Wellington region the exciting and vibrant city it is - "the coolest little capital in the world"

Now endearingly known as The Wellys, the awards night celebrates these people across nine categories, with one overall winner recognised as the supreme Wellingtonian of the Year winner.

Previous winners

There have been some truly outstanding recipients over the years, starting with Gloria Grattan in 1989 for her work as a launch fundraiser for Mary Potter Hospice. 

Other winners include Sr Richard Taylor, Dane Coles, Steven Adams, Sir Des Britten, Sir Roy McKenzie, Dame Kate Harcourt, Sir Peter Jackson, Sir Jon Trimmer, Steve Logan & Al Brown and Jemaine Clement & Bret McKenzie of Flight of the Conchords fame.


There are 9 Wellys Categories:

  Arts     Business     Community Service      Education      Environment     

  Public Service     Science & Technology    Sport     Youth


Over the 2 month campaign, Nominations are sought from the public across these 9 Categories.

The Finalists are announced and then profiled throughout November.

This all culminates in the Wellingtonian of the Year Awards Night - a gala dinner at Te Papa attended by many local luminaries and past Recipients.

Tickets go on sale when the Finalists are announced in early November and can be purchased through this website or by email Ticket Prices to be confirmed.


Nominations Open Monday 24th September:

Nominations Close Monday 8th October:

2018 Finalists Announced Thursday 1st November (in The Dominion Post and on this website)

The 2018 Awards Night - Te Papa Thursday 6th December:




+ Text Size -
Original generation time 4.7877 seconds. Cache Loaded in: 0.0105 seconds.