The Wellys 2015, Wednesday 18 November

About The Wellys

The Wellingtonian of the Year Awards were started in 1989 to celebrate achievements and contributions across all sectors of the Greater Wellington community, awarding those who make the greater Wellington region the exciting and vibrant city it is - "the coolest little capital in the world"

Now endearingly known as The Wellys, the awards night celebrates these people across nine categories, with one overall winner recognised as the supreme Wellingtonian of the Year winner.


Previous winners

There have been some truly outstanding recipients over the years, starting with Gloria Gratan in 1989 for her work as a launch fundraiser for Mary Potter Hospice. Other winners include Sir Roy McKenzie, Dame Kate Harcourt, Peter Jackson, Jemaine Clement and Bret McKenzie, Sir Jon Trimmer, Steve Logan and Al Brown and Father Des Britten.

In 2014 NBA basketballer Steven Adams was awarded the supreme award for his success with the Oklahoma City Thunder and his contribution to basketball development.  


+ Text Size -
Original generation time 0.8808 seconds.